Port Richey, Florida Sex Crimes Defense Attorney :: Pasco County Man Celebrates his Birthday in the Slammer for Flashing Children

A 64-year-old Port Richey, Florida man celebrated his birthday in the Pasco County jail for allegedly getting naked and waving his hips and genitals at a school bus carrying elementary school students. He was charged with five counts of lewd and lascivious exhibition.

A grandmother driving past to pick up her grandson saw the exposed man and called police. Shortly after, the Pasco County Sherriff’s Office began receiving calls from concerned parents whose children had relayed stories of the man’s naked body.

A deputy arrived at the scene and found the man still hanging around. He supposedly thought exposing himself would be humorous.

The man allegedly told police he was homeless, but had a mailing address in New Port Richey, FL.

He remained in jail Thursday with bail set at $50,000.

The terms lewd and lascivious are synonymous with wicked, licentious, lustful and unchaste. Florida legislature does not give a specific definition for lewd and lascivious conduct because it could limit law enforcement’s ability to charge suspects for certain sexual behaviors involving minors. Florida’s Lewd and Lascivious Law is separated into four categories of offenses: lewd and lascivious battery, lewd and lascivious molestation, lewd and lascivious conduct and lewd and lascivious exhibition.

Lewd and lascivious exhibition can be the intentional exposure of genitals in a wicked or unchaste manner, intentionally masturbating or intentionally committing a sexual act that does not involve physical or sexual contact in the presence of a victim less than 16 years of age. When a person 18 years of age or older commits a lewd or lascivious act it is a second degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison, or probation if solicitation is only suspected, and possible registration as a sex offender. The offense becomes a third degree felony punishable by up to five years in prison or probation and possible registration as a sex offender, if the offender was under the age of 18 when the crime was committed.

If you or someone you know has been accused of any lewd and lascivious offense in Florida, contact the Florida Sex Crimes Defense Attorneys online or call 1-866-608-5LAW (5529).