April 16, 2011 | Share This Post
Pasco County, Florida Sex Crimes Defense Lawyer :: Florida Sex Offender Nabbed for Failing to Register in New York
A Pasco County, Florida man has been charged with failing to register in the state of New York. The 48-year-old man is a registered sex offender with four convictions in Florida for acts involving a child.
The federal complaint against the man shows he revised his sex offender registration in November 2010, and he recognized that he was to report to the Pasco County Sherriff’s Office within 48 hours of moving to different state. Florida law enforcement claims he left the state without doing so.
The Florida man allegedly lived in Pennsylvania from Christmas 2010 through mid-February 2011, and his most recent residence was in Lindley, Steuben County.
The complaint is the conclusion of an inspection by the U.S. Marshals Service.
According to the U.S. Attorney’s Office, this man faces a mandatory minimum penalty of 10 years in prison and a fine of $250,000 if convicted.
Sexual predator and sexual offender laws are scrutinized as two separate episodes under Florida law, but the penalties for each are one and the same. The key difference between the two is the number of times throughout the year that a person must register; sexual predators must register four times annually and sexual offenders need to register twice a year. While the offenses are different, the requirements for registering echo each other considerably.
Failure to meet the terms of registration requirements is quite serious and can create a speckled array of legal barriers. Your time to register is restricted following your release from prison or being placed on probation. Failing to register within the designated time allotment violates your terms of parole and a warrant for your arrest will be issued. Generally, failing to register carries consequences of up to five years in prison. However, there are circumstances that can place an offender in prison for up to 15 years if he or she fails to register.
If you have failed to register as either a sexual predator or a sexual offender in the state of Florida, contact the Florida Sex Crimes Defense Attorneys online or call 1-866-608-5LAW (5529).